Very ancient remains, wild tulips and Eastern Gladiolus left by the Romans, and the former name of the place, “Domaine de Francs”, are so many proves that it was already occupied during the Roman era.
In the XVth century, Sieur François Coutet gave the estate its current name. In 1601, the vineyard became property of the mayor of Libourne, Thomas d’Augereau, who was married to Marie David.
Handed down from generation to generation, Coutet has been intimately related to the David Beaulieu family for at least 400 years.
Its inhabitants have always produced a great Saint-Émilion wine. In 1874, Édouard Féret, in his Classification des vins (Classification of wines), made the following remark:
“The Coutet estate is situated on one of the hillsides of Saint-Émilion, in a fortunate position, overlooking the Dordogne valley with picturesque sites and a land which is highly favourable to the vine. The vineyard consists of 9 ha that spread partly over the plateau, partly over the southwest hillside. This beautiful situation can but bring about mellow wines remarkable with their lasting bouquet.”